• Oh, What a Beautiful Morning (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • People Will Say We're in Love (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • Love, Look Away (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • Gentleman Is a Dope (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • It Might as Well Be Spring (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • Sweetest Sounds (Rodgers)
  • I Could Write a Book Lyrics (Hart/Rodgers)
  • You Took Advantage of Me Lyrics (Hart/Rodgers)
  • The Lady is a Tramp Lyrics (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Little Girl Blue Lyrics(Hart/Rodgers)
  • My Romance Lyrics (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Yours Sincerely Lyrics (Hart/Rodgers)
Label: Concord Jazz
Original Release Date: October 1989

Buy this cd now on Amazon.com

This Rosemary Clooney recording differs from all of her previous Concord albums in that she is joined by the L.A. Jazz Choir (a 12-voice group) on half of the dozen selections. The choral backing is a bit of an acquired taste for jazz listeners but Clooney's backup sextet does consist of tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, trumpeter Jack Sheldon (who helps out Clooney with his vocal on "People Will Say We're in Love"), trombonist Chauncey Welsch, pianist John Oddo (who is responsible for both the choral and instrumental arrangements), bassist John Clayton and drummer Joe LaBarbera. Clooney interprets the music of Richard Rodgers and lyrics which are split almost evenly between Lorenz Hart and Oscar Hammerstein. Most of the tunes are fairly well-known (including "It Might as Well Be Spring," "I Could Write a Book," "You Took Advantage of Me" and "My Romance") but Rosemary Clooney makes them sound fresh and alive. --